WVPA Sharing

Still time to register for AP Legislative Lookahead on Jan. 12

CHARLESTON, W.Va. —  There is still time for journalists around the state can to register for the 2015 West Virginia AP  “Legislative Lookahead” on Jan. 12 at Charleston Newspapers.

Each year, AP West Virginia hosts the “Lookahead” to give journalists from around the state a preview of  key issues and events that could impact the upcoming West Virginia legislative session.The event — from 8:30 a.m  until 3:30 p.m. on Jan. 12 at Charleston Newspapers’ conference center at 1001 Virginia St. E — is organized by Dorothy Abernathy, AP’s Mid-Atlantic Bureau Chief for
Virginia, Washington, DC. Maryland, West Virginia ad Delaware, with assistance from Marshall University, Charleston Newspapers and the West Virginia Press Association.

Four seperate panels provide attendees with insight into topics recommended by the state’s journalists. Confirmed panelists are listed below. Organizers are also working to finalize the panels with additional guests.
Registration is being handled by the West Virginia Press Association. Register online or contact the WVPA at 304-342-1011. There is a $15 per person fee that covers attendance, box lunch and beverages during the day.
The 2015 program agenda is as follows:8:30 a.m. to 9 a.m. – Registration and Coffee

9 a.m. to 10:15 a.m. – Municipal Issues. Moderator John McCabe of The Intelligencer.


• Charleston Mayor Danny Jones

• Sen. Brooks McCabe, Democrat

• Economist John Deskins, Director of the West Virginia University Bureau of Business and Economic Research

• Wheeling Mayor Andy McKenzie

• Blair Taylor, Executive Director of the West Virginia Municipal Pensions Oversight Board

10:30 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. –  FOIA. Moderator Rob Byers of The Charleston Gazette.


• Don Smith, Executive Director of the West Virginia Press Association

• Pat McGinley, West Virginia University Law Professor

• Del. Tim Armstead, House Minority Leader

11:45 a.m. to 1 p.m. – Lunch. Presenter: Bob Kiss, Cabinet Secretary of the Department of Revenue

1 p.m. to 2:15 p.m. – Water Quality. Moderator Beth Vorhees of West Virginia Public Radio


• Nasandra Wright,  Environmental Health Director of the Kanawha-Charleston Health Department

• Angie Rosser, Executive Director of the WV Rivers Coalition

• Corky DeMarco, Executive Director of the WV Oil and Gas Association

2:30 to 3:30 p.m. – GOP Takeover. Moderator, Heather Goodwin Henline, publisher of The Inter-Mountain.


• Sen. Mike Hall, Republican, Senate Minority Leader

• Sen. Clark Barnes, Republican, House Minority Whip

• Sen. Bill Cole, Republican

• Sen. Jeff Kessler, Democrat, outgoing Senate president

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address