Board of Directors

The West Virginia Press Association was established on June 3, 1869, just six years after West Virginia became a state.

In 1955, the organization began its current structure as a nonprofit trade association representing daily and weekly newspapers in the state.

The 9-member governing board is made up of executives from a mix of daily and weekly newspapers to ensure representation for communities of all sizes from all over West Virginia.

The membership of the West Virginia Press Association elects new officers and board members during its annual meeting in August. 

President: Hannah Heishman, Moorefield Examiner

Vice President of Dailies: Terri Hale, The Register-Herald, CNHI Newspapers

Vice President of Weeklies: Scot Refsland, West Virginia Daily News

Treasurer: David Hedges, Spencer Newspapers, Spencer

Past President: Perry Nardo, The Intelligencer & Wheeling News-Register

Director: James McGoldrick, St. Marys Oracle

Director: Doug Skaff, Charleston Gazette-Mail

Director: Jim Spanner, The Parkersburg News and Sentinel

Director: Sallie See, The Hampshire Review

WV Press Services officers

President Daily: Jim Spanner, The Parkersburg News and Sentinel

Vice President Weekly: Jim McGoldrick, St. Marys Oracle

Treasurer: David Hedges, Spencer Newspapers

West Virginia Press Association Foundation Trustees two-year terms:

President Ed Given, publisher of the Braxton Citizens’ News and Braxton Democrat

Frank Wood, The Register-Herald, retired

Pam Pritt, formerly of The Pocahontas Times

Nanya Friend, Charleston Daily Mail, retired

Randy Mooney, Bluefield Daily Telegraph/The Register Herald, retired

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address