Latest News, WVPA Sharing

Nominations for Adam R. Kelly Premier Journalist Award open until July 1

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Press Association is accepting nominations for the 2016 Adam R. Kelly Premier Journalist Award through July 1.

Adam R. Kelly
Adam R. Kelly
The award is the highest individual honor bestowed by the West Virginia Press Association. It’s given each year in recognition of an individual’s service to the newspapers in the state, the West Virginia Press Association and to the individual’s community.
The 2015 Award honoree was Andy Kniceley, publisher of  The Exponent Telegram of Clarksburg. A list of previous winners is posted on the WVPA website – – at

The Adam R. Kelly Premier Journalist Award was established in 1991 in memory of the late Adam R. Kelly, legendary “Country Editor” columnist and former owner and editor of the Tyler Star News in Sistersville. Kelly was known nationally for his outstanding service to newspapers.A committee of past presidents of the Press Association selects the honoree from an ongoing list of nominations made by journalists or other persons. Announcement of each year’s winner is made during the awards ceremony at the annual WVPA Convention.

Nominations should be submitted by email or in writing by July 1, 2016 to:

[email protected]


WV Press Association
3422 Pennsylvania Ave.
Charleston, WV 25302

Included in the submission should be a biography of the nominee, with specific emphasis on his or her service to the newspapers of the state, the West Virginia Press Association and to his or her local community. In addition, several samples of the individual’s newspaper writing and work should be provided to the committee.

Announcement of the recipient will be made during the annual WVPA Convention at Lakeview Resort in Morgantown on Aug. 4-6.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address