Latest News, WV Press Videos

WV school board OKs multiple school closures

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Board of Education approved Wednesday closing three elementary schools in Boone County and one in Roane County, and heard that the superintendent of Fayette County, which it controls, wants to shutter Ansted Middle School.

Wharton Elementary, Nellis Elementary and Jeffrey-Spencer Elementary represent three of Boone’s 10 elementary schools. The local school board previously approved closing them. Superintendent John Hudson said the move is in response to declining enrollment and lower property tax collections.

Reedy Elementary will be the Roane school closing at the end of this school year. Its local board also previously approved its closure.

In a presentation to state school board members Wednesday, School Building Authority Executive Director David Sneed mentioned Fayette’s plan to close Ansted if it gets School Building Authority funding. Terry George, the Fayette schools superintendent that state Schools Superintendent Michael Martirano appointed to lead that school system, has requested $1 million from the School Building Authority to add classrooms to Midland Trail High School.

George said that would allow the beleaguered Ansted Middle building to be shut down…

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address