Government, Latest News

Three names presented to Justice for W.Va. senate seat


The Register-Herald

SANDSTONE, W.Va. — Gov. Jim Justice has been presented with the names of three possible candidates for appointment to fill the unexpired term of former state Sen. Ron Miller.

Meeting Tuesday evening at the Green Sulphur Springs firehouse in Sandstone, the 10th Senate District Democratic Executive Committee voted to forward the names of Stephen Baldwin, Matthew Detch and Margaret Staggers to the governor for consideration, according to Chairman Gibbs Kinderman.

Stephen Baldwin, D-Greenbrier, speaks during a legislative session State Capitol.
(Photo by Rick Barbero)

Baldwin, of Ronceverte, is midway through his first term in the West Virginia House of Delegates, having been elected in 2016. He previously served on the Greenbrier County Board of Education is the pastor at Ronceverte Presbyterian Church.

Detch was the Democratic nominee in West Virginia’s 3rd Congressional District in 2016. He is a former officer with the United States Secret Service under presidents George W. Bush and Barack Obama. He has a B.A. in criminology from Missouri State University and a M.A. in international criminology from the University of Greenwich in London, England. He resides in Lewisburg.

Staggers, former member of the House of Delegates, resides in Fayette County. She is a graduate of the WVU School of Medicine, is board certified in family and emergency medicine and has been a paramedic since 1985.


Justice may choose to appoint one of the committee’s nominees or another Democrat from Greenbrier, Fayette or Summers County to complete Miller’s term. Monroe County, which is also in the 10th District, currently has a sitting senator — Kenny Mann of Ballard — and, therefore, no one from that county is eligible for this appointment.

With little more than a year remaining in his second term of office, Miller resigned from the Senate at the end of September to accept a post in the governor’s administration, serving as a liaison with the Agriculture Department.

Email: [email protected]

See more from The Register-Herald

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address