Endorsements, Latest News, WVPA Sharing

ENDORSEMENT: W.Va. Directors of Senior and Community Services “Senior Power” PAC announce 2018 General Election candidate endorsements

Release from the West Virginia Directors of Senior and Community Services Senior Power PAC:

CHARLESTON, W.Va. The West Virginia Directors of Senior and Community Services Senior Power Political Action Committee announced its candidate endorsements for the 2018 general election today.

The West Virginia Directors of Senior and Community Services is the association that represents senior centers across the state and its 3,740 employees. The association’s members provide services in all 55 counties, including preparing and delivering nearly 2.5 million meals each year. They transport seniors on more than 250,000 trips, which include doctor and medical appointments, transportation to the pharmacy, and to the grocery store. In addition, they operate centers that serve as a resource for seniors and enriches their lives through social interaction and fellowship

“Our members are deeply passionate about taking care of the state’s seniors,” said William Carpenter, president of the PAC. “It’s a task that gets more and more difficult with low reimbursement rates, rising costs and federal mandates.”

“Some of our senior centers are in dire straits, because the very agencies that were created to assist our seniors are now in jeopardy, which will lead to cutting services. Our seniors deserve better. We need elected officials in office who understand the needs of the state’s largest population segment, and we believe the candidates endorsed by the Senior Power PAC understand our issues,” Carpenter said.

Candidates endorsed by the Senior Power PAC include:

United States Senate 

Joe Manchin



David McKinley

Alex Mooney

Carol Miller


State Senate

3rd Mike Azinger

4th Brian Prim

5th Mike Woelfel

6th Mark Maynard

7th Dr. Ron Stollings

8th Ed Gaunch

9th William “Bill” Wooton

10th Stephen Baldwin

11th Bill Hamilton

12th Mike Romano

14th Dave Sypolt

15th Charles Trump

17th Dr. Tom Takubo


House of Delegates:

2nd Phillip Diserio

5th Dave Pethtel

7th Jason Harshbarger

9th Ray Hollen

11th Martin “Rick” Atkinson

13th Scott Brewer

14th Jim Butler

16th Sean Hornbuckle

17th Chad Lovejoy, Dr. Matthew Rhorbach

19th Ken Hicks, Robert Thompson

22nd Zack Maynard, Jeff Eldridge

23rd Rodney Miller

25th Andy Vance

26th Ed Evans

27th Joe Ellington, John Shott

29th Ricky Moye

32nd Margaret Ann Staggers

33rd Roger Hanshaw

34th Brent Boggs

35th Andrew Byrd, Charlotte Lane, Eric Nelson

37th Mike Pushkin

43rd Bill Hartman

44th Dana Lynch

48th Robert “Rob” Garcia, Richard Iaquinta, Tim Miley, Ben Queen

50th Linda Longstreth

52nd Terry Funk-Sypolt

53rd D.R. Buck Jennings

54th John Paul Hott II

55th Issac Sponaugle

56th Gary Howell

57th Ruth Rowan

63rd John Hardy


During the 2016 General Election in West Virginia, more than 45 percent of voters were over the age 45.


Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address