Government, Latest News

Candidate names sent to governor


The Register-Herald

BECKELY, W.Va. — A field of eight applicants was narrowed to three Wednesday night, as the West Virginia Legislature’s latest game of musical chairs now awaits Gov. Jim Justice’s decision on who will complete Stephen Baldwin’s two-year term in the House of Delegates.

In a span of less than a year, Baldwin moved from a freshman representing the 42nd Delegate District to a gubernatorial appointment to a seat in the Senate earlier this month, filling Ron Miller’s unexpired term after Miller accepted a position in the executive branch.

Now the governor has the task of choosing among Cindy Lavender-Bowe, Cathey Sawyer and Jeff Campbell for the House slot that Baldwin left behind.

The three candidates for the post were selected by the 42nd Delegate District Democratic Executive Committee, chaired by Bill Lightner. The committee forwarded the candidates’ names to the governor at the conclusion of a Wednesday night meeting in Alderson.

Other candidates under consideration by the committee were Matt Detch, E. Lavoyd Morgan Jr., Kelly Kemp, Jason Long and Richard Grady Ford.

The 42nd Delegate District encompasses most of Greenbrier County and portions of Monroe and Summers counties.

Email: [email protected]

See more from The Register-Herald

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address