Latest News, WVPA Sharing

WVPA accepting nominees for Adam R. Kelly Premier Journalist Award

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Press Association is accepting nominations for the Adam R. Kelly Premier Journalist Award.

Adam R. Kelly
Adam R. Kelly

The Adam R. Kelly Premier Journalist Award is the most prestigious award presented by the West Virginia Press Association. The award was established in 1991 in memory of the late Adam R. Kelly, legendary “Country Editor” columnist and former owner and editor of the Tyler Star News in Sistersville. Kelly was known nationally for his outstanding service to newspapers.

A committee of past presidents of the Press Association selects the honoree from nominations made by journalists or other persons. Announcement of each year’s winner is made during the awards ceremony at the annual WVPA Convention, held this year on Aug. 13-15 in Charleston, W.Va.

David Hedges of the Spencer Newspapers was the Adam R. Kelly Premier Journalist in 2014.

Nominations should be submitted by June 1, 2015, by email to Don Smith, at [email protected] or by mail at WV Press Association. 3422 Pennsylvania Ave.
Charleston, WV 25302.

Included in the submission should be a biography of the nominee, with specific emphasis on his or her service to the newspapers of the state, the West Virginia Press Association and to his or her local community. In addition, several samples of the individual’s newspaper writing must be provided to the committee.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter