Latest News, WVPA Sharing

69th annual Victory Awards Dinner set for Sunday

WHEELING, W.Va. — The nation’s oldest statewide sports fete will be held Sunday at WesBanco Arena in Wheeling.

 The 69th annual Victory Awards Dinner sponsored by the 83-year-old West Virginia Sports Writers Association will feature the induction of two more members of the W.Va. Sports Hall of Fame as well as present major awards to 19 high school and college athletes, two Coach of Year awards, and recognition of all state championship coaches and first team all-state selections for football, boys and girls basketball.
 The inductees into the 65-year-old Hall of Fame located inside the Charleston Civic Center will be two graduates of old Moundsville High School–retired West Virginia U. athletic director Ed Pastilong and the late Ralph Tasker, who retired as the winningest high school boys basketball coach in U.S. history.
The all-sports Coach of the Year awards will go to West Virginia U. men’s basketball coach Bob Huggins, with the Furfari Award, and to Poca High boys basketball coach Allen Osborne.
 The Hardman Award as Amateur Athlete of the Year was won for the second straight year by Marshall U. quarterback Rakeem Cato, who might be unable to attend because of professional football commitments.
 Major high school football awards will go to Rashuan Haley of Capital, Kennedy and Warner Awards; Trevor Stacy of Spring Valley, Hunt Award; and Isaiah Honesty of Martinsburg, Sam Huff and Chuck Howley Awards. First-year football awards, besides tjhe Warner and Howley awards, will go to Kentre Grier of South Charleston, House Award; Christian Johnson of Jefferson, Moss Award; Marcus Lofton of Buckhannon-Upshur, Lee Award; and Deonte Glover of Musselman, Walker Award.
Other major sport awards include: Ostrowski Award–Taryn McCutcheon, Parkersbug South; Evans Award–Jacob Kilgore, Spring Valley; Dutton Award–Logan Grass, Huntington; McCoy Awards–Abe Merinar of Bridgeport and Millie Paladino, University; Rachel E. Taylor Memorial Softball Award–Allison Rager, Hebrert Hoover; and Baseball Player of Year–Seth Kinker, Cabell Midland.
 Two Kennedy Foundation Scholarship winners are Rhys Jelich of Ravenswood and Justin Cogar of Westside. Rick Kozlowski of the Martinsburg Journal is the Morehouse Award recipient.
Presiding over the banquet will be WVSWA president Cam Huffman of the Beckley Register-Herald. Mark Martin of WCHS-TV in Charleston is toastmaster. Doug Huff of Wheeling, the 35-year WVSWA secretary-treasurer, serves as banquet chairman for the 26th year.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter