WV Press Videos

West Virginia AP Legislative Lookahead set for Monday, Jan. 6

SOUTH CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia AP Legislative Lookahead —  sponsored by The Associated Press, the West Virginia Press Association and Marshall University — is set for Monday, Jan. 6, at Marshall University’s South Charleston Campus.

The final program is as follows:

9 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. – Registration/Coffee.


9:30 to 10:15: Future Fund / Energy – Moderator is Rob Byers, managing editor of The Charleston Gazette.


  • Senate President Jeff Kessler
  • Corky DeMarco, executive director of the West Virginia Oil and Natural Gas Association
  • Ted Boettner, executive director, West Virginia Center for Budget and Policy
  • Bill Raney, president, West Virginia Coal Association


10:30 to noon: Transportation – Moderator is Heather Henline, publisher of The Inter-Mountain in Elkins.


  • Sen. Bob Beach, chairman of the West Virginia Senate Transportation Committee
  • West Virginia Transportation Secretary Paul Mattox Jr.
  • Randolph County Commissioner Mike Taylor of the West Virginia Blue Ribbon Highway Commission
  • Keith Burdette, cabinet secretary, West Virginia Department of Commerce


Noon to 1 p.m. Lunch – Attorney General Patrick Morrisey to speak.


1 p.m. to 2:15 p.m. Prescription drugs – Moderator is John McCabe, managing editor of The Intelligencer.


  • Del. Don Perdue
  • Dr. Dan Foster
  • David Potters, executive director, West Virginia Board of Pharmacy
  • Carlos Gutierrez, senior director and head of state government affairs, Consumer Healthcare Products Association


2:15 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.: Gambling – Moderator is Christopher Kinsler, editor of The Journal, Martinsburg


  • John Cavacini, president Virginia Racing Association
  • Sam Burdette of the West Virginia Greyhound Breeders Association
  • Eric Bowen, research associate, Bureau of Business and Economic Research at West Virginia University
  • Senate President Jeff Kessler

If you have questions or problems, please contact WVPA Executive Director Don Smith at 304-550-0454,  304-342-1011, ext. 160, or email at don [email protected].

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address