WV Press Videos

Victory Awards Dinner honors state’s best in athletics

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The 68th annual Victory Awards Dinner recognizing the best in Mountain State athletics will be held on Sunday, May 4, at the Charleston Civic Center. Start time is 4 p.m.

Advance tickets for the public event are available from sports departments of member daily newspapers. No tickets are sold at the door. 
 The nation’s oldest statewide sports fete is the annual showcase for the 82-year-old West Virginia Sports Writers Association, which honors high school and college athletes and coaches and serves as the sole sponsor of the West Virginia Sports Hall of Fame.
Highlights of the Dinner will be the induction of the two newest Hall of Famers — Bob Pruett, the winningest football coach in Marshall University history, and Fern Lee (Peachy) Kellmeyer, a tennis and female sports pioneer and inductee into the International Tennis Hall of Fame.
Marshall quarterback Rakeem Cato will receive the Hardman Award as Amateur Athlete of the Year. The Furfari Award as College Coach of the Year will go to Jim Crutchfield, the West Liberty U. men’s basketball coach, and the High School Coach of the Year is Shannon Lewis, the girls’ basketball coach at Huntington St. Joseph.
High school football awards include the Kennedy Award as Player of the Year to Chazzy Thomas of Morgantown; Sam Huff Award as Defensive Player of the Year to Geremy Paige of Wheeling Park; and the Hunt Award as Lineman of the Year to James Walton of Capital.
Receiving top basketball awards will be Jon Elmore of George Washington, the Evans Award; and Mychal Johnson of Huntington St. Joseph, the Ostrowski Award.
The McCoy Award winners as Trackpersons of the Year are Dante Price of Jefferson and Emily Godwin of Buckhannon-Upshur. The Dutton Award for wrestling goes to Dalton George of Williamstown while the Baseball Player of the Year goes to Daniel Heleine of Hedgesville.
The Kennedy Foundation scholarship award winners are Anthony Bonamico of Bridgeport and Jake Parker of Meadow Bridge. Rick McCann, Sports Editor of the Huntington Herald-Dispatch, is the Morehouse Award recipient.
Mark Martin will serve as toastmaster. Dave Morrison of the Wheeling Newspapers is president of the W. Va. Sports Writers Association.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address