Latest News, WV Press Videos

GOP ends 83-year W.Va. House drought

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — In a night that saw West Virginia turn Republican red in U.S. Senate and U.S. House races, Republicans on Tuesday also took control of the state House of Delegates, ending an 83-year Democratic reign in the 100-member legislative body.

Also, in an election-night surprise, Republicans were on pace to pick up seven seats in the state Senate — leaving that body in an apparent 17-17 split between Democrats and Republicans.

It was a night when voters swept out long-serving Democratic delegates, including Speaker Pro Tem Randy Swartzmiller, D-Hancock; and Delegates Dale Stephens, D-Cabell; John Pino, D-Fayette; Charlene Marshall and Tony Barill, both D-Monongalia; Danny Wells, D-Kanawha; and Tiffany Lawrence, D-Jefferson, among many others.

In the Senate, prominent Democrats including Sens. Truman Chafin, D-Mingo; Erik Wells, D-Kanawha; Larry Edgell, D-Wetzel; Mike Green, D-Raleigh; and Greg Tucker, D-Nicholas, were unseated, while Delegate Doug Skaff, D-Kanawha, was defeated in a bid for the seat currently by retiring Democratic Sen. Brooks McCabe.

House Minority Leader Tim Armstead, R-Kanawha, would become the speaker of the House if Republicans vote to keep him in his leadership position…

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address