Newspaper Industry News

Herald-Dispatch writer up for bluegrass award

NASHVILLE, TENN. —  Nominees for the 2014 International Bluegrass Music Awards were announced last week at a press conference in Nashville, Tennessee, with The Boxcars leading the pack with ten nominations for the band and their individual members. They’re followed by Blue Highway with nine nominations, and The Del McCoury Band with six nominations.
Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. Results of the balloting will be revealed at the International Bluegrass Music Awards on Thursday, October 2, hosted by artists Lee Ann Womack and Jerry Douglas. The Awards Show is the centerpiece of World of Bluegrass event, to be held September 30-October 4 in Raleigh, NC.

For the third year in a row. Herald-Dispatch freelance music writer Derek Halsey has been nominated for the IBMA’s “Bluegrass Print /Media Person of the Year.”
Halsey, who also writes for such industry magazines as “Bluegrass Unlimited,” was nominated for this wealth of work covering the weekly national act concerts at the Milton Mountaineer Opry House, in addition to many other bluegrass concerts at the Paramount Arts Center and other festivals around the region. Halsey is up against three writers for “Bluegrass Today,” and Ted Lehmann, of “Ted Lehmann’s  Bluegrass, Books and Brainstorms….

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address