West Virginia Press Convention

Lootpress ‘Player of the Year’ fall sports banquet honors student-athletes

WV Press News Sharing

BECKLEY, W.Va. –  High school athletes from southern West Virginia, on Saturday, joined together with family, friends, and coaches for the 2022 Lootpress Fall Sports Banquet. Held at the Beckley-Raleigh County Convention Center, the banquet provided an opportunity for the community to recognize top student-athletes in five different fall-season sports. 

Tyler Jackson, Lootpress sports editor who served as emcee for the evening, began by praising those students selected as “player of the week” during the fall season, before recognizing the collective State Championship-efforts of the Greenbrier East Spartans Men’s Soccer team and the Independence Patriots Football team. 

Publisher Brandon Steele welcomes guests to the banquet.

A total of 15 awards were handed out, including Community Choice, Career Achievement, and Coach of the Year. The winning “Players of the Year” were:

  • Adam Seams, Greenbrier East – Male Soccer Player of the Year.
  • Mya Wooten, Beckley – Female Soccer Player of the Year.
  • Meg Williams, Shady Spring – Volleyball Player of the Year.
  • Kerri-Anne Cook, Westside – Female Golfer of the Year.
  • Tanner Vest, Shady Spring – Male Golfer of the Year.
  • Aiden Kneeland, Beckley – Male Cross Country Runner of the Year.
  • Natalie Barr, Nicholas County – Female Cross Country Runner of the Year.

Football award-recipients were:

  • Grant Cochran, Princeton – Quarterback of the Year. 
  • Dominick Collins, Princeton – Wide Receiver of the Year.
  • Logan Isom, Independence – Offensive Lineman of the Year.
  • Jordan Harvey, Independence – Defensive Player of the Year.
  • Judah Price, Independence – Offensive Player of the Year.

John H. Lilly, head coach of the State Champion Independence Patriots Football team was named Coach of the Year. Greenbrier West Cavalier Ty Nickell, on the strength of a two-season total of more than 3,300 yards rushing and four career playoff appearances, was the recipient of the Career Achievement Award. And Summers County Bobcat Tyson Adkins, whose all-state performance at the linebacker position included 84 tackles with three sacks and two forced fumbles, was selected to receive the Community Choice Award. 

Each student award-winner will receive a $500 scholarship from the Lootpress Foundation. Coach Lilly will receive a $500 grant to put toward his football program. These scholarships, as well as the awards banquet, were made possible through the sponsorship of Mid-State Automotive, American Electric Power (AEP), Compliance LLC., the Law Offices of Brandon S. Steele, Village Caregiving, Larry Pack, McDowell Supply Company, the West Virginia Press Association, New River CTC, Dutch Miller Auto Group, Brian Helton, Daniel Hall, Southern Skin and Wellness, Beaver Land Co., the Law Offices of Stephen P. New, and Chris Davis. 

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address