Latest News, Newspaper Industry News, WVPA Sharing

WVPA accepting nominations for the 2018 Adam R. Kelly Award

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Press Association is accepting nominations for its Adam R. Kelly Award through May 1, 2018.

Adam R. Kelly

The award is the highest individual honor bestowed by the West Virginia Press Association. The Adam R. Kelly Award recognizes an individual’s service to the newspapers in the state, the West Virginia Press Association and to the individual’s community.

The 2017 Award honoree was Ed Dawson, editor and publisher of The Herald-Dispatch of Huntington. A list of previous winners is posted on the WVPA website – – at

Announcement of the recipient will be made during the annual WVPA Convention in August in Charleston, W.Va.

In addition to the Adam R. Kelly Award, each year, the WVPA also recognizes the top journalistic and advertising efforts of individuals and publications  through the WVPA Newspaper Competition.

The Adam R. Kelly Award was established in 1991 in memory of the late Adam R. Kelly, legendary “Country Editor” columnist and former owner and editor of the Tyler Star News in Sistersville. Kelly was known nationally for his outstanding service to newspapers.

A committee of past presidents of the Press Association selects the honoree from an ongoing list of nominations made by newspaper representatives or other persons.

Nominations should be submitted by May 1, 2018, to:

WV Press Association
3422 Pennsylvania Ave.
Charleston, WV 25302


[email protected]

Included in the submission should be a biography of the nominee, with specific emphasis on his or her service to the newspapers of the state, the West Virginia Press Association and to his or her local community. In addition, if the nominee’s primarily field of service to the WVPA is as journalist, several samples of the individual’s newspaper writing and work should be provided to the committee.


Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter