Latest News, WVPA Sharing

Delegate Bill Anderson to chair WV House Energy Committee

House Speaker Armstead announces Republican leadership for the session.

By Jess Mancini

City Editor

Parkersburg News and Sentinel

[email protected] 
PARKERS BURG, W.Va. — A member of the House of Delegates from Wood County is moving from president pro tem to chairman of the Energy Committee.
Delegate Bill Anderson, R-8th, said Friday he requested the assignment because of the region’s future potential for oil and gas exploration.

Oil and gas drilling in the foreseeable future will migrate toward Wood and Pleasants counties, Anderson said. The state has vast reserves of coal and natural gas in the Marcellus and Utica shales, but is and continues to be challenged with dwindling tax revenue from the decrease in energy production, Anderson said.

“We are an energy-producing state,” he said.

Anderson, a member of the House since 1992, was House speaker pro tem in the last legislative session. Anderson said while House Speaker Tim Armstead preferred he remain in that leadership position, Anderson said he preferred to be chairman of the Energy Committee.

“He left it up to me,” Anderson, a retired teacher, said.

Republicans have a majority in both chambers of the Legislature, a majority achieved in the 2014 election, the first time in 80 years. Republicans after the 2016 election are also serving in the offices of attorney general, commissioner of agriculture, secretary of state and auditor.

Wood County will have two delegates in leadership roles on the Energy Committee. Delegate John Kelly, R-Wood, will be a vice chairman, oil and gas, on the Energy Committee, Armstead said.

The House Energy Committee in the last session of the Legislature was chaired by former Delegate Woody Ireland, a Republican from Ritchie County. Ireland, first elected in 2006, did not run for re-election in 2016.

The 83rd West Virginia Legislature convenes next week. It will reconvene a month later because 2016 was a gubernatorial election.

Armstead Friday announced the Republican leadership for the session.

Anderson will be succeeded as speaker pro tem by Delegate John Overington, R-Berkeley, Armstead said. Overington has been in the House since 1984 and is its longest serving member.

“For three decades, I have fought for conservative principles as a member of the minority in the House of Delegates,” Overington said. “It has been gratifying to see many of those ideas become law in the past two years, and I look forward to working as a member of this leadership team to continue passing bold proposals to make our state a better place to live and work.”

Delegate Daryl Cowles, R-Morgan, will continue as majority leader. Delegate Carol Miller, R-Cabell, will be majority whip and Delegate John O’Neal, R-Raleigh, will become assistant majority leader.

“We have accomplished a great deal in our first two years of leadership in the Legislature, and we hope to build on that success over the next two years,” Armstead said. “This leadership team is committed to taking bold steps and pursuing policies that will rebuild our economy and improve the quality of life for all West Virginians.”

Miller will be the first woman to serve as a Republican majority whip. She was an assistant majority leader for the past two years and was elected to the House in 2006.

Armstead also appointed committee chairmen and vice-chairmen for the next session. Individual members will receive committee assignments in a week, he said.

Among the major committees, the only change will be in the chairmanship of the Energy Committee. With Kelly, Mark Zatezalo, R-Hancock, will be vice chairman, coal, on the committee.

Judiciary Committee Chairman John Shott, R-Mercer, Finance Committee Chairman Eric Nelson, R-Kanawha; Health and Human Resources Committee Chairman Joe Ellington, R-Mercer; and Government Organization Committee Chairman Gary Howell, R-Mineral, will continue as chairmen of the four other major committees, Armstead said.


Committee assignments announced were:

* Education: Paul Espinosa, chairman; Joe Statler, Vice chairman.

* Energy: Bill Anderson, chairman; Mark Zatezalo, vice chairman, Coal; John Kelly, vice chairman, oil and gas.

* Finance: Eric Nelson, chairman; Eric Householder, Vice chairman.

* Government Organization: Gary Howell, chairman; Lynne Arvon, vice chairman.

* Health and Human Resources: Joe Ellington, chairman; Amy Summers, vice chairman.

* Judiciary: John Shott, chairman; Roger Hanshaw, vice chairman.

* Agriculture and Natural Resources: Allen Evans, chairman, agriculture; Roger Romine, vice chairman,  agriculture; Bill Hamilton, chairman, natural resources; George Ambler, vice chairman, natural resources

* Banking and Insurance: Steve Westfall, chairman, insurance; Brad White, vice chairman, insurance; Cindy Frich, chairman, banking; Jill Upson, vice chairman, banking.

* Enrolled Bills: Roger Hanshaw, chairman; Steve Westfall, vice chairman.

* Industry and Labor: Tom Fast, chairman; Geoff Foster, vice chairman.

* Interstate Cooperation: Erikka Storch, chairman; Danny Hamrick, vice chairman.

* Pensions and Retirement: Ron Walters, chairman; Mike Folk, vice chairman.

* Political Subdivisions: Erikka Storch, chairman; Saira Blair, vice chairman.

* Roads and Transportation: Marty Gearheart, chairman; Danny Hamrick, vice chairman.

* Rule-Making Review: Kelli Sobonya, chairman; Cindy Frich, vice chairman.

* Rules: Tim Armstead, chairman.

* Select Committee on the Prevention and Treatment of Substance Abuse: Joe Ellington, chairman; Kayla Kessinger, vice chairman.

* Senior Citizen Issues: Ruth Rowan, chairman; Matt Rohrbach, vice chairman.

* Small Business and Economic Development: Jordan Hill, chairman; Rick Atkinson, vice chairman.

* Veterans Affairs and Homeland Security: Jim Butler, chairman, homeland security; Pat McGeehan, vice chairman, homeland security; Roy Cooper, chairman, veterans affairs; Danny Wagner, vice chairman, veterans affairs.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address