Latest News, WVPA Sharing

The 2017 Pulitzer Prizes for Journalism

The following is the list of 2017 Pulitzer Prizes winners for journalism. The listing includes category, winner, and finalists.


Public Service

New York Daily News and ProPublica

For uncovering, primarily through the work of reporter Sarah Ryley, widespread abuse of eviction rules by the police to oust hundreds of people, most of them poor minorities.

Breaking News Reporting

Staff of East Bay Times, Oakland, CA

For relentless coverage of the “Ghost Ship” fire, which killed 36 people at a warehouse party, and for reporting after the tragedy that exposed the city’s failure to take actions that might have prevented it.

Investigative Reporting

Eric Eyre of Charleston Gazette-Mail, Charleston, WV

For courageous reporting, performed in the face of powerful opposition, to expose the flood of opioids flowing into depressed West Virginia counties with the highest overdose death rates in the country.

Explanatory Reporting

International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and Miami Herald

For the Panama Papers, a series of stories using a collaboration of more than 300 reporters on six continents to expose the hidden infrastructure and global scale of offshore tax havens. (Moved by the Board from the International Reporting category, where it was entered.)

Local Reporting

The Salt Lake Tribune Staff

For a string of vivid reports revealing the perverse, punitive and cruel treatment given to sexual assault victims at Brigham Young University, one of Utah’s most powerful institutions.

National Reporting

David A. Fahrenthold of The Washington Post

For persistent reporting that created a model for transparent journalism in political campaign coverage while casting doubt on Donald Trump’s assertions of generosity toward charities.

International Reporting

The New York Times Staff

For agenda-setting reporting on Vladimir Putin’s efforts to project Russia’s power abroad, revealing techniques that included assassination, online harassment and the planting of incriminating evidence on opponents.

Feature Writing

C. J. Chivers of The New York Times

For showing, through an artful accumulation of fact and detail, that a Marine’s postwar descent into violence reflected neither the actions of a simple criminal nor a stereotypical case of PTSD.


Peggy Noonan of The Wall Street Journal

For rising to the moment with beautifully rendered columns that connected readers to the shared virtues of Americans during one of the nation’s most divisive political campaigns.


Hilton Als of The New Yorker

For bold and original reviews that strove to put stage dramas within a real-world cultural context, particularly the shifting landscape of gender, sexuality and race.

Editorial Writing

Art Cullen of The Storm Lake Times, Storm Lake, IA

For editorials fueled by tenacious reporting, impressive expertise and engaging writing that successfully challenged powerful corporate agricultural interests in Iowa.

Editorial Cartooning

Jim Morin of Miami Herald

For editorial cartoons that delivered sharp perspectives through flawless artistry, biting prose and crisp wit.

Breaking News Photography

Daniel Berehulak, freelance photographer

For powerful storytelling through images published in The New York Times showing the callous disregard for human life in the Philippines brought about by a government assault on drug dealers and users. (Moved into this category from Feature Photography by the nominating jury.)

Feature Photography

E. Jason Wambsgans of Chicago Tribune

For a superb portrayal of a 10-year-old boy and his mother striving to put the boy’s life back together after he survived a shooting in Chicago.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

And get our latest content in your inbox

Invalid email address